Ramsey Grammar School awards night

YOUNG ACHIEVERS: Guest speaker and former Ramsey student Gemma Starkey, centre, surrounded by this year's award winners

YOUNG ACHIEVERS: Guest speaker and former Ramsey student Gemma Starkey, centre, surrounded by this year's award winners

Have your say

THE annual Ramsey Grammar School awards evening celebrated the achievements of pupils past and present last week.

As well as the distribution of awards for the 2011/12 academic year, there was music, drama and guest speakers.

The welcome was provided by chairman of the school governors Mrs Bradley, who bid a fond farewell to students and staff in what is her final awards night in her role as chairman.

Special guest and former pupil Gemma Starkey addressed the student body, speaking of hard work, goals, and success.

Gemma, who works within the British film industry in London, was invited back to her former school after having achieved a first class honours degree at Nottingham University and two subsequent Masters degrees at the London Consortium of the Tate, The Institute of Contemporary Arts, Architectural Association and the University of London.

A musical presentation was made by year 12 student Dorian Amaral, who performed a dramatic piano piece by Sergei Rachmaninov.

Two other year 12 students, Ciara Howes and Chis Owen, stepped up to entertain next with some comedy drama by Alan Bennett.

Also celebrated were the achievements of former students, as a list of the year’s graduates was read out, including details of their universities and degree courses.

After the awards had been distributed, head teacher David Trace gave his report on the school year, before head boy and head girl Kyle Withington and Hayley Robinson closed the evening with a vote of thanks.

Award winners included:

The Anne Radcliffe Award for Determination went to Megan Webb of year 12, While the Di Harrison Shield for Achievement in FLA 4 went to Peter Enright from year 10.

Year 12’s Chris Owen took the D.J. Christal Prize for outstanding contribution, for his work in the fields of music, drama, sport and academia over five terms.

The Glenn Glade Cup for achievement in year 9 was awarded to Voirrey Baker, while the Paul Lebiedzinski Trophy for Manx affairs was given to year 12’s Alfie Leach, a student heavily involved in Manx and brass music, as well running his own farm produce retail business.

The Elizabeth Clucas Charitable Trust Award for academic achievement in year 8 went to Niamh Stringer, and the Headteacher’s Prize for Excellence went to Rebecca Corner.

The House Cup, sponsored by Appleby Global, was awarded to the Snaefell house, as its students collected the highest number of ‘e-points’ in the 2011/12 acedemic year.

Back to the top of the page