All change at local authority

Onchan Commissioners chairman Derek Crellin

Onchan Commissioners chairman Derek Crellin

Have your say

It’s all change at Onchan Commissioners.

At its annual general meeting on Tuesday, Derek Crellin was elected chairman for the 2014-15 municipal year.

He replaces Rob Callister, who held the post of chairman for one year after being elected to the local authority in the uncontested April 2012 election.

John Quaye was elected vice-chairman.

He has been a commissioner since 2011, when he topped the poll in the November by-election.

His previous role was as lead member for finance and general purposes.

The lead members elected were: properties and amenities, Kathryn Williams; environmental and technical services, David Scambler; finance and general purposes, Robin Turton.

Mr Crellin, of Alpine Close, in Onchan, was elected a commissioner in April 2000, just one month after he retired from his role as police sergeant following 31 years’ service with the Isle of Man Constabulary.

Clerk to the commissioners Malcolm Hulme said: ‘We are aware we need to get a policy statement not just for his [Derek Crellin’s] chairmanship but for several years to come, for the direction Onchan is going to take.

‘That is one of the major items he will be dealing with, which will start at the next board meeting.’

Back to the top of the page