Public’s views on boundaries

Have your say

NEARLY 40 submissions have been made to the committee looking at the future of House of Keys constituencies, during an extended consultation period.

The Boundary Review Committee, appointed by the Governor in Council in line with a Tynwald resolution, is examining the number and boundaries of Keys constituencies taking into account population changes in recent years.

By the end of March, when its public consultation ended, the committee had received 39 responses.

It has since been considering these submissions and has invited some of the respondents to meet it in person, later this month, to clarify and expand on issues raised.

Committee chairman Sally Bolton explained: ‘The consultation was originally due to close at the end of February but it was extended until the end of March to allow more time for the public to submit views.

‘The committee is pleased with the level of response to the consultation and would like to thank everyone who took the trouble to make a submission.’

The committee is due to report by the end of this year, so its work will not affect the forthcoming House of Keys General Election on September 29.

It invited views on the following matters in particular:

Existing boundaries

Possible changes to existing boundaries

Size of constituencies

Number of members per constituency

Number of voters per elected member

Whether population should be the sole guide to constituency size

Any other relevant issues

The other members of the Boundary Review Committee are Terry Groves, Ashton Lewis and Bob Riding.

At present the constituencies are shaped as follows:

Ramsey – two MHKs; Ayre – one MHK; Michael – one MHK; Peel – one MHK; Garff – one MHK; Glenfaba – one MHK; Middle – one MHK; Onchan – three MHKs; Douglas North – two MHKs; Douglas South – two MHKs; Douglas East – two MHKs; Douglas West – two MHKs; Castletown – one MHK; Malew and Santon – one MHK; Rushen – three MHKs.

More information on the Boundary Review Committee can be found via the Chief Secretary’s Office website

Back to the top of the page