Turner and Thomas join Department of Infrastructure

Chris Thomas MHK

Chris Thomas MHK

Have your say

Two members of Tynwald have been given new departmental jobs.

Juan Turner MLC and Chris Thomas MHK (Douglas West) are joining the Department of Infrastructure.

They will be working alongside John Houghton MHK (Douglas North) and Kate Beecroft MHK (Douglas South and Liberal Vannin Party leader).

Leonard Singer MHK (Ramsey) is leaving the department.

The department’s minister, Phil Gawne MHK, took over at the department after the mini ministerial reshuffle following John Shimmin’s resignation.

He said: ‘I am very pleased to welcome Chris Thomas and Juan Turner and would also like to thank Leonard Singer for his input. The department is facing some major challenges and we will work together to try to secure a more sustainable future for our key services.’

He added: ‘The Department of Infrastructure is at the very forefront of efforts to make the savings required to achieve the national priority of rebalancing public finances.

‘We must also continue to focus on delivering a high quality infrastructure that allows the Isle of Man to attract new investment and generate economic growth. We need to be bold and creative and I look forward to working with the members and officers to drive forward the department in the time ahead.’

Political members of departments take responsibilities in certain areas. Those responsibilities have not yet been announced.

Yesterday, the political members for the Department of the Environment, Food and Agriculture were announced.

The DoI and DEFA have been working below their usual membership quota following Richard Ronan MHK’s appointment as DEFA Minister.

The memberships of the other departments will be confirmed later this month.

Back to the top of the page