Alex fires Cronkbourne to top of Premiership

CENTURY HERO: Cronkbourne's Alex Stokoe on his way to scoring an impressive century against Rob Webber's (right) Ramsey side. Cronkbourne won by just seven runs to move to the top of the Standard Bank Premiership

CENTURY HERO: Cronkbourne's Alex Stokoe on his way to scoring an impressive century against Rob Webber's (right) Ramsey side. Cronkbourne won by just seven runs to move to the top of the Standard Bank Premiership

Have your say

A GREAT century by Alex Stokoe has taken Cronkbourne to the top of the Standard Bank Premiership.

They now share the lead with Ramsey whom they beat by just seven runs at Tromode on Saturday.

Batting first the Douglas side scored an imposing 213 for 7 from their 40 overs.

Max Stokoe made 35 and Phil Haswell 34, but the stand-out performance came from Alex Stokoe. He cracked 104 and then turned in a fine bowling performance, taking 3-22 from eight overs.

Ramsey needed more than five an over to win the game and their batsmen were in an aggressive mood.

Shaun Kelly hit 32, Ollie Webster 29 and Ashley Webster 24, but the key man was Rob Webber. With a superb 64, he held the middle-order and tail together.

As the final over started the northern side needed seven to win, but had only one wicket left.

In mounting excitement Cronkbourne struck with the first ball to win a memorable game.

St John’s returned to form with a big win over Crosby at Marown.

They ran up a massive 260 for 7 with Nick Hawke smashing 78, Akkie Van Den Berg 68 and Alex Williamson 66 not out.

Then the Saints’ bowlers excelled and dismissed Crosby for just 64.

Van Den Berg had his best return of the season with 5-26 and Greg Hawke’s 3 for included a hat-trick.

In the Standard Bank Forrester Division Three an impressive effort by Simon Clarke just failed to stop Castletown C defeating Grasshoppers.

The Jurby all-rounder dominated the Hoppers batting by hitting 54 not out.

Mike Curphey was the next highest scorer with eight as the side ended on 93 for 7.

In reply Castletown made a bright start as opener David Kenworthy led the way with 23.

They were well up with the run rate but were pinned back when Clarke came on to bowl.

His four overs cost only three runs and nearly turned the match. The Town just managed to get home in the last over for the loss of seven wickets.

St John’s B now top Division Three after winning three matches in a row. Their latest victory was in the local derby against Peel C. The Saints ended on 110 for 8 which included a blistering partnership of 53 between Paul Nicholson and Dean Wales.

Peel got close to their target thanks to skipper Colin Gilbert hitting a strong 28 and a quick-fire 15 from Brian Wozniak.

However, tight bowling from the St John’s youngsters saw their side hang on for a narrow 17-run victory.


Standard Bank Premiership

Cronkbourne 213 for 7 (Alex Stokoe 104no, Max Stokoe 35: Charlie Whipp 3-54, Ollie Webster 1-37); Ramsey 206 (Rob Webber 64, Shaun Kelly 32: Matt Ansell 4-28, Alex Stokoe 3-22). Cronkbourne won by seven runs.

St John’s 260 for 7 (Nick Hawke 78, Akkie Van Den Berg 68: Jacob Hicklin 2 -69, Jack Rowlands 1-49); Crosby 69 (Jacob Hicklin 23, Jamie Brown 22: Akkie Van Den Berg 5-26, Greg Hawke 3-7). St John’s won by 191 runs.

Standard Bank Forrester Division One

Cronkbourne A 143 for 8 (Phil Haswell 27, Max Stokoe 24 : Scott Weaver 2-34, Ollie Webster 1-16); Ramsey A 135 for 9 (Ollie Webster 40, Ken Harding 28 : Alex Stokoe 5-16, Carl Wagstaffe 1-14). Cronkbourne won by eight runs.

Standard Bank Forrester Division Two

Castletown B 107 for 6 (John Short 38, Richard Jackson 26no: Robbie Prescott 2-13, Sean Crossley 2-16); Ronaldsway 110 for 1 (Brian Gartland 57no, Robbie Prescott 29no: Jeff Butler 1-16). Ronaldsway won by nine wickets.

Crosby B 130 for 4 (Richard Foden 57, Martyn Oates 40: Scott McGregor 2-21, David Smith 1-15); Ronaldsway 135 for 4 (Paul Gerrard 53no, Brian Gartland 33: Paul Smith 2-27, Jamie Brown 1-18). Ronaldsway won by six wickets.

Castletown B 121 for 2 (Richard Corke 48, Dave Griffiths 35: Richard Taylor 1 14, Eddie Clague 1-19); Union Mills 121 for 7 (Jody James 34, Manoj Patel 24: Brendan Coleman 3-13, Richard Corke 1-18). Match tied.

Ramsey B v Crosby B : Game abandoned (rain) – one point to each side.

Standard Bank Forrester Division Three

St John’s B 110 for 8 (Dean Wales 26, Paul Nicholson 25: Mike Oates 3-26, J. Smith 2-21); Peel C 93 for 7 (Colin Gilbert 28, Brian Wozniak 15). St John’s won by 17 runs.

Grasshoppers 93 for 7 (Simon Clarke 54no, Mike Curphey 8: Richard Jackson 2-2, Andrew Ronan 2-14); Castletown C 95 for 7 (David Kenworthy 23, Mike Finnie 19: David Sheen 4-19, Mark Arden 1 -14). Castletown won by three wickets.

Grasshoppers 92 for 6 (Chris Wade 35no, Gareth Roberts 25 : Mark Furness 3-6, Joe Burrows 2-11); Finch Hill B 95 for 5 (Joe Burrows 19no, Keith Gartland 14no : Simon Gubby 1-8, Gareth Roberts 1-15). Finch Hill won by five wickets.

Finch Hill A 133 for 4 (Marc Furness 32, Ben Bennett 22: Kieron Cawte 1-21, Mike Walker 1-21); Crosby C 128 (John Lovelady 22, Sam Cubbon 12: Richard Oliphant 3-26, Rob Dawson 2-22). Finch Hill won by five runs.

Castletown C 111 for 4 (Rob Karran 43, Will Cain 15no : Paul Sime 1-5, H Hewson 1-18); Peel C 100 for 8 (Brian Wozniak 25, Matt Wozniak12 : Steve Epplestone 2-11, Tom Kennaugh 2-14): Castletown won by 11 runs.

Back to the top of the page