Ramsey start new top-flight season with a bang

Castletown skipper Garreth Roome keeps his eyes on a Ramsey delivery during Saturday's Premiership match

Castletown skipper Garreth Roome keeps his eyes on a Ramsey delivery during Saturday's Premiership match

Have your say

Ramsey powered to victory in their opening match in the Standard Bank Premiership on Saturday.

The 2012 champions had a fine eight-wicket win over Castletown and look set for another title challenge.

Batting first, Town lost three quick wickets to Ollie Webster before Wicus Wessels began to hit out. He made 23 before being caught off the bowling of Shaun Kelly.

That made it 36 for 4 and Webster picked up two more wickets. Then Gayan Dissanayake went on the attack with a lively 36. He was aided by a quick-fire 20 from Euan Quayle.

The innings ended on 120 and Castletown’s hopes rose when they dismissed one of the Ramsey openers in only the second over. But Kelly, promoted to number three, took control and cracked a match-winning 59. Rob Webber made a gritty 23 not out as Ramsey cruised home by eight wickets.

Cronkbourne won a cliff-hanger finish against Valkyres at Tromode. The visitors recovered from 40 for 3 to finish on 186 for 6. Tom Reader was in form with 48, while Ben Bennett scored 34 and Abdul Khan 31.

Cronkbourne lost an early wicket, but Jaco Jansen calmed their nerves with an excellent 40. When he departed, skipper Alex Stokoe took over, but wickets began to fall at the other end. At 147 for 6 the game was in the balance, then Stokoe went for a fine 66.

In mounting tension as the overs ran out, Adam Killey steered the side to a narrow three-wicket win with a calm 16 not out.

The new Peel and St John’s club won their first match in style. Against Crosby they struggled to 140 for 6 before recovering to 216 for 9. Akkie Van Den Berg shone with a stylish 62, skipper Phil Littlejohns made 31 and both Mike Oates and Alex Williamson hit 24.

The Crosby reply was going well at 37 for 0 after 10 overs, but then Chris Hawke struck. He took three quick wickets and the Marown side were in deep trouble at 44 for 4.

Jacob Hicklin and Martyn Oates battled away, but the side were dismissed for 129. Hawke ended with 4 for 12 and Littlejohns returned 3 for 10.


Standard Bank Premiership

Castletown 120 (Gayan Dissanayake 36, Wicus Wessels 23 : Ollie Webster 5-24, Chris Wade 2-21); Ramsey 121 for 2 (Shaun Kelly 59, Rob Webber 23no : Euan Quayle 1-22, Gayan Dissanayake 1-23). Ramsey won by eight wickets.

Valkyres 186 for 6 (Tom Reader 48, Ben Bennett 34 : Jaco Jansen 2-30, Chris Hewson 1 -20); Cronkbourne 187 for 7 (Alex Stokoe 66, Jaco Jansen 40 : Andy Coulson 5-31, Hameed Sulthan 1-26). Cronkbourne won by three wickets.

Peel and St John’s 216 for 9 (Akkie Van Den Berg 62, Phil Littlejohns 31 : Joe Rothwell 3-34, Stu Morris 2 -16); Crosby 129 (Jacob Hicklin 20, Martyn Oates 18 : Chris Hawke 4-20, Phil Littlejohns 3-10). Peel and St John’s won by 87 runs.


Saturday, May 4

Standard Bank Premiership (1pm)

Nedbank Private Wealth Crosby v Valkyres

Ramsey v Baker Tilley I0M Cronkbourne


Sunday, May 5

President’s Day

(at Mullen-e-Cloie)

Baker Tilley IoM Cronkbourne

v Celton Manx Castletown

Ramsey v Peel

Under-14 League (10am)

Nedbank Private Wealth Crosby

v Celton Manx Castletown

Ramsey v Baker Tilley IOM Cronkbourne


Monday, May 6

Standard Bank Forrester Two (6.30pm)

Grasshoppers v Celton Manx Castletown C

Back to the top of the page