All mixed tennis leagues decided

The Castletown C team of (l-r) Sarah Breed, Tim Woakes, Justine Torry and Richard Kerr won Division Two

The Castletown C team of (l-r) Sarah Breed, Tim Woakes, Justine Torry and Richard Kerr won Division Two

Have your say

All of the divisions have now been decided in the Isle of Man Lawn Tennis Association’s Mixed Leagues sponsored by PokerStars.

In Division One, Albany A took the title with a match to spare by beating Kensington Road A 6-0.

For the home team Marc Chinn and Laura Feely first took care of the away side’s first pair of Karen Faragher and Les Gale 6/4, 6/1 and then went on to beat the visitors’ second pair of Rosie Manuja and Stewart Swann 6/1.

The latter pair put up a good fight against their opposite pair of Anna Jones and Ian Watson but eventually went down 6/3, 6/3. Faragher and Gale fared no better with a 6/1 loss against Jones and Watson.

In Division Two Castletown C took on their own D team at the Malew Street courts, knowing that a C team win would seal the title.

The C’s first pair of Sarah Breed and Richard Kerr was made to work really hard against Kirree Ronan and Jamie Derrick but eventually came out on top with 6/3, 6/4 win to give the C team the ideal start.

The second pair for the C team, Justine Torry and Tim Woakes, had a slightly easier time taking care of Nicola Skillicorn and Norman Lewis 6/1, 6/0.

This gave the C team an unassailable lead and not just the match but the title. There was no let up on the D team though, with Torry and Woakes taking care of Ronan and Derrick 6/2 and likewise by Breed and Kerr against Skillicorn and Lewis.

Division Three had already been clinched by a Kensington Road B side of Greta Kaslik, Seraphina Batty, Adam Davies and Steve Bennett.

However, Albany C finished the season off with a home match against Port Erin A to decide who would be relegated for next season.

Lynda Cadamy and Simon Jones got the visitors off to the perfect start with a 6/4, 6/3 win over Katie McNought and David Winnell. Tina Goodwin and Adam Pyatt-Coppell then evened the score up for Albany with a 6/3, 7/5 victory over Elizabeth Kershaw and Ricky Broadbent.

Goodwin and Pyatt-Coppell lost out 5/7 to Cadamy and Jones leaving the McNought and Winnell pairing to rescue it for the home side. This they did with a 6/3 win against Kershaw and Broadbent.

This left the two teams on equal number of points won and sets won and lost, meaning relegation to league four would be decided on games won and lost.

It resulted in Port Erin who would be relegated by the tightest of margins, with Port Erin winning 106 and losing 123, Albany winning 112 and losing 118.

In Division Four, the Castletown E team of Sarah Goldie, Karen Murphy, Bob Borland and Ron Ronan have already secured the title.

This meant the only remaining fixture in the division was between Castletown F and Kensington Road C.

This resulted in a much closer match than the end score of 5-1 suggests, with Debbie Joubert and Yanchun Wang sharing sets with Tania Thomas and Ron Sibthorpe 4/6, 6/3 and then going on to lose to Lynda Faragher and David Emmett 6/3.

Sharon Jamieson and Neil Watterson lost out firstly 6/3, 6/2 to Faragher and Emmett and then went on to lose their final set 6/3 to Thomas and Sibthorpe.

Full leagues tables for all the men’s, women’s and mixed leagues will be in next week’s report.

Other results from weeks six and seven: Division One - Castletown B 2 Castletown A 4; Kensington Road A v Albany A not received. Division Two: Ramsey A 4, Albany B 2; Castletown C 5, Ramsey A 1; Castletown D 1, Albany B 5.

Neil Ronan

Back to the top of the page