Sports awards shortlist announced

GUEST OF HONOUR: Dennis Taylor

GUEST OF HONOUR: Dennis Taylor

Have your say

THE shortlist of sportsmen and women for the 2012 Isle of Man Sports Awards has been confirmed for all eight categories.

The winners will be announced at the Isle of Man Bank-sponsored gala awards night in the Villa Marina’s Royal Hall on Thursday, March 21 when former world snooker champion Dennis Taylor will be the guest of honour.

The nominations for the awards have now been received and narrowed down to a shortlist in each of the categories: Sportsman of the Year - Keith Gerrard (athletics), Peter Kennaugh and Mark Cavendish (cycling), David Knight and Danny McCanney (motorcycle enduro), Dave Molyneux (double sidecar TT winner).

Sportswoman of the Year - Aalin George (archery), Debbie Barron (sidecar TT driver), Emma Harris (golf), Jess Draskau-Petersson (Olympic athlete), Zoe Gillings (snowboarding), Harriet Pryke (athlete).

Clubman/administrator - Brian Callow (junior football), Roberta Cannell (badminton), Joe Boyd (golf), Tony Temple (motorcycling), Dave Christian (rugby), Louise Haddock (Ellan Vannin Gymnastics Club).

Coach - Gareth Dawson (cricket), Casey Davies (Southern Nomads Rugby Club), Tom Melvin (Northern Athletics Club), Jenni Quillan (youth sailing), Chris Bass (football/St George’s), Kevin Manning (former island football manager).

Team - Isle of Man Athletics Club, Women’s Compound Archery team, St George’s AFC, IoM Cricket team, Southern Nomads.

Ambassador - Steve Taylor (race walking/Olympic Games chief judge), Peter Kennaugh and Mark Cavendish (cycling), Cal Crutchlow (MotoGP), Lonan Gentlemen’s Fellowship (land speed motorcycling team).

Under-21 Sportsman: Danny McCanney and Jamie McCanney (motorcycle enduro), Greg Kelly (sailing), Darryl Hill (snooker), Phil Cringle (rugby),

Dan Hattersley (football/Stockport County), Callan Cooper (motorcycle racing), Joe Kelly (cycling).

Under-21 Sportswoman - Tara Donnelly (gymnastics), Aalin George and Kirsten George (archery), Laura Kinley and Charlotte Atkinson (swimming), Yasmin Ingham (equestrian), Reagan Dee (high jump), Louise Corkill (hockey).

Disabled Sportsperson - Darren Kennish (wheelchair athlete), Chris Hattersley (cycling), Robin Smith, Andy Waldron, Eve Kelly (all Wooden Spoon Wheelchair Basketball Club).

A special award for achievement on the Isle of Man will be presented, while one of the highlights of the evening will be the lifetime achievement award. There will also be a new induction to the Isle of Man Sporting Hall of Fame.

The evening will also be linked with the presentation of Isle of Man Sport Aid sponsorships for those young athletes to be supported by Isle of Man Sport Aid throughout 2013.

All of the above sportsmen and women, or representatives of clubs/teams will be invited to the function, which will include supper provided by the Palace Hotel and Casino. Additional tickets will be available on the night for seating in the balcony area at a nominal fee.

Isle of Man Sport chairman, Graham Cregeen MHK, commented: ‘Once again, we have had a marvellous year for Manx sport and this event provides a wonderful opportunity for the people of the Isle of Man to recognise outstanding sporting achievements in 2012.’

Isle of Man Sport acknowledge the support of sponsors of the individual awards as without their support it would not be possible to hold this event. More details closer to the event.

Back to the top of the page