TT 2016: Hutchy wins third race of the week

Ian Hutchinson on his way to winning the 2016 Monster Energy Supersport race 2 (Photo: Dave Norton)

Ian Hutchinson on his way to winning the 2016 Monster Energy Supersport race 2 (Photo: Dave Norton)

Have your say

Ian Hutchinson won the Monster Energy Supersport Two on Wednesday afternoon race to move equal with Mike Hailwood in the list of all-time TT winners.

The Bingley Bullet produced another dominant performance on the Team Traction Control Yamaha to win his fourth Supersport TT in a row by 17.547 seconds from rival Michael Dunlop. The latter only had a new engine fitted to his MD Racing Yamaha late on Tuesday night after Monday’s exclusion from the week’s first Supersport race because of a problem with the bike’s original engine’s cam buckets.

Dean Harrison claimed his third podium of the week bringing home his Silicone Engineering Kawasaki a further 16.644 seconds down on Dunlop.

After completing his second Supersport double in as many years for Keith Flint’s TTC team a delighted Hutchinson said: ‘I’m having so much fun on this bike - the team have dome me proud again - it’s been faultless.

‘I’m riding as good as I’ve ever rode.’

On equalling Hailwood’s record of 14 wins, the 36-year-old said: ‘It’s astonishing - to be anywhere names like that is touching really.’

Rival Dunlop admitted it had been a struggle for his side to get the bike ready for today’s race.

‘We had a motor in that we’ve never used. What my team did last night was phenomenal - they worked all night to get the bike ready.’

Harrison was happy with third: ‘Absolutely spot on - felt comfortable from the off despite a little oil leak.’

Hutchy lead from start to finish of the four-lap race, that was delayed two hours because of sea mist preventing the medical helicopter from taking station at Alpine corner.

The Yorkshireman gradually built his lead as Dunlop struggled to get his new engine up to speed and by the end of the first lap he held a 4.002-second lead.

Harrison slotted in behind the leading two on the timing charts, but a battle royal raged behind the top three for the rest of the top-six places.

Eventually James Hillier edged this by 1.3 seconds from Bruce Anstey who nosed just ahead of Lee Johnston and Padgett’s team-mate Conor Cummins for fifth.

Cameron Donald pulled in at Ramsey on lap two, with John McGuinness stopping at Braddan Church at the start of last three. William Dunlop was a non-starter with a sore back.

Full report in issue three of TT News - on sale Thursday.

Back to the top of the page