Laurence Skelly is the new President of Tynwald.

He triumphed by 20 votes to 12 in a head-to-head with fellow Rushen MHK Juan Watterson.

Mr Skelly replaces Steve Rodan, who has retired after five years as the parliament’s main presiding officer.

Economic Development Minister Mr Skelly, who had already indicated he would not stand in September’s general election regardless of today’s result, was first elected MHK in 2011. He is the current Economic Development Minister.

He was nominated by Daphne Caine (Garff) and seconded by Bill Henderson MLC.

Mr Watterson, who has been an MHK for 15 years, was nominated by Clare Barber (Douglas East) and seconded Jane Poole-Wilson MLC, has been Speaker of the House of Keys since 2016.

Mr Rodan was first elected as Garff MHK in 1995, successfully standing in four further elections. He was Speaker of the House of Keys from 2006-16.

The vote took place this morning in the Tynwald chamber and remotely after it was decided to hold a ’hybrid’ Tynwald sitting this week to allow members with health concerns to participate remotely. There was a slight delay in the result after one member, before the vote was counted, admitted pressing the wrong button on the electronic voting system in the chamber.

The vote was presided over by Attorney General John Quinn as Mr Watterson vacated his normal position as deputy president following his nomination.