Cav crowned Sportsman of the Year

By John Watterson   |   Sports Editor   |
Wednesday 22nd March 2017 11:30 pm
[email protected]
Mark Cavendish and Isle of Man Sport Awards special guest Kate Richardson-Walsh OBE at Wednesday night's ceremony at the Villa Marina ()

Subscribe newsletter

Subscribe to our email and get updates right in your inbox.

Mark Cavendish has been named Isle of Man Sportsman of the Year for the ninth time.

The Manx Missile attended Wednesday evening’s Isle of Man Bank-sponsored awards ceremony at the Villa Marina as the island’s sporting talent gathered to celebrate the success stories of 2016.

Swimmer Charlotte Atkinson won the main Sportswoman award for the first time but was unable to attend the ceremony because of training commitments in the UK.

The Isle of Man Ambassador Award went to Ramsey-based Moto GP ace Cal Crutchlow, while cyclist Matthew Bostock and motorcycle trials rider Ella Doherty took the Under-21 awards.

Coach of the Year was won by Raj Nandha of the Isle of Man women’s hockey team, while swimmer Ben Grainger picked up his third successive Disability Sportsperson of the Year award.

The Isle of Man sidecar trials team saw off stiff competition to scoop the title Team of the Year while well-known football character and pundit Tony Mepham was awarded Administrator of the Year.

The Veteran Sportsperson title was awarded for a second year in succession to Parish Walk and End to End Walk winner Richard Gerrard, while there was a standing ovation for Dursley Stott OBE as he was received the Lifetime Achievement Award in recognition of his many years of work within the Commonwealth Games and shooting.

Professional snooker player Darryl Hill was inducted into the Hall of Fame for his European Under-21 Championship win in 2015, earning himself a place on the professional circuit.

More from the Isle of Man Sports Awards ceremony in the Manx Independent, Isle of Man Courier and next Tuesday’s edition of the Isle of Man Examiner.


To leave a comment you need to create an account. |

All comments 0