Three Manx musicians are leading the way in a prestigious international music awards category.

The Manx trad-folk pop fusion group Mec Lir have had their well-received second album, ’Live Wire’ nominated for the album of the year for the Scots Trad Music Awards for 2021.

The group feature three Manx trad musicians, composer and keyboardist Dave Kilgallon, and fiddle player Tom Callister and bouzouki player Adam Rhodes, both of whom now live in Glasgow, long with percussionist Greg Barry.

They will see their album go up against releases from a host of big names from the Scottish folk world, including guitarist and singer Kris Drever, Karen Matheson, Rachel Walker and Brian Ã? hEadhra and Fionnag NicChoinnich.

’Live Wire’ was released in December last year and was an instant success.

The nine-track album immediately reached the top of the iTunes World Music charts.

It also made the top 50 in the general UK iTunes charts.

The short list for the Scots Trad Folk Awards was decided by public nominations and the award itself will also be decided by a public vote, and the band are hoping that they can get as much support from their home fans to help them along.

’We’re totally over the moon to get nominated for this award,’ said Adam.

’When we released Livewire we weren’t expecting such a good response, so to be short listed for this alongside some other fantastic albums is amazing.

’It is up for the final public vote to decide the winner and we are up against some other fantastic albums by some of Scotland’s biggest acts, so we could do with your help!’

The voting opened this week, on Tuesday, and you can vote for your favourite album online through the website

The final results will be announced live on BBC Scotland on December 4.

Mec Lir have also announced that they are to make a return to the live stage, appearing at the international Celtic Connections festival, also held in Glasgow, on January 28, where they will be playing alongside the likes of Capercaillie, Karine Polwart, Talisk, Deaf Shepherd, Ross Ainslie and Tim Edey.