Four government ministers lost their seats in the general election.

Graham Cregeen, the Justice and Home Affairs Minister; Geoffrey Boot, the Environment, Food and Agriculture Minister; Ray Harmer, the Policy and Reform Minister and Tim Baker, the Infrastructure Minister, were beaten in the ballot.

The ministers who kept theirs were Alfred Cannan, David Ashford and Alex Allinson. The Chief Minister is retiring and former Enterprise Minister Laurence Skelly has left the Keys to become President of Tynwald.

Other sitting MHKs who lost their seats were Ralph Peake in Douglas North, Martyn Perkins and Paul Quine in Douglas South.

Two MLCs are now MHKs. Jane Poole-Wilson topped the poll in Middle. Kate Lord-Brennan topped the poll Glenfaba and Peel.

There are now more women than ever before in the Keys. There are now 10 women. In 2016, five were elected. In 2011 the figure was only two.