The shortlist for the 2021 Isle of Man Sports Awards has been announced.

The ceremony will take place at the Villa Marina on Thursday, March 31 with 12 awards being presented across the various categories with winners chosen by the Isle of Man Sport committee.

Sportsman of the Year

Mark Cavendish (cycling)

Tom Gandy (golf)

Billy Harris (tennis)

Joe Harris (javelin)

Daniel McCanney (enduro)

Harry Payne (sidecar racing)

Bevan Rodd (rugby)

Sportswoman of the Year

Sarah Astin (athletics)

Aimee Cringle (crossfit)

Kim Dean (weightlifting)

Tara Donnelly (gymnastics)

Lisa Grant (powerlifting)

Yasmin Ingham (equestrian)

Becky Storrie (cycling)

Under-21 Sportsman of the Year (sponsored by Newfield)

Patreece Bell (rugby)

Maxx Bradshaw (rallying)

Tyler Hannay (cycling)

Carl Hartmann (cricket)

Ben Sinclair (athletics)

Max Walker (cycling)

Under-21 Sportswoman of the Year (sponsored by Suntera Global)

Kaytlyn Adshead (motorcycle trials)

Sinead Cox (equestrian)

Sienna Dunn (hockey)

Mia Dunwell (race walking)

Ruby Oakes (cycling)

Amelia Sharpe (cycling)

Disability Sportsperson of the Year (sponsored by Isle of Man Newspapers)

Chloe Chadwick (equestrian)

Sean Jackson (amputee football)

Darren Kennish (disability darts)

Zoe Lambie (race walking)

Victoria Thompson (equestrian)

Sports Team of the Year (sponsored by Crowe Isle of Man)

Corinthians Men’s Football Team (football)

Isle of Man Men’s National Cricket Team (cricket)

Manx Rams Netball Team (netball)

Team Station Garage (motorcycle trials)

Vikings Hockey Ladies A Team (hockey)

Sports Administrator of the Year (sponsored by Duke Travel)

Linda Alton-Heath (circuit racing)

Alice Corrin (equestrian)

Steve Callister (football)

Niamh Goddard (hockey)

Debbie Shimmin (hockey)

Neil Withers (crown green bowls)

Isle of Man Sports Ambassador (sponsored by Department for Enterprise)

Andrew Baker (solo rowing)

Sam Brand (cycling)

Mark Cavendish (cycling)

Aimee Cringle (crossfit)

Yasmin Inghgam (equestrian)

David Knight (Dakar rally)

FC Isle of Man Football Team (football)

Sports Coach of the Year (sponsored by Conister Bank)

Jamie Brown (hockey)

Niamh Goddard (hockey)

Ashley Hall (netball)

Liam McKee (skateboarding & scootering)

Valery Molchanov (gymnastics)

Michael Owen (motorcycle trials)

Peter Roberts (boxing)

Veteran Sportsperson of the Year (sponsored by CM Partners)

Martin Freestone (rallying)

Lisa Grant (powerlifting)

Chris Horton (judo)

Orran Smith (fell running)

Rob Sorby (cycling)

Sarah Webster (marathon)

Lifetime Achievement (sponsored by Keystone Law)

The recipient of this award is selected by the Sports Awards committee and announced on the evening of the awards.

The Leonie Cooil ‘Courage & Inspiration’ Award

The recipient of this award is selected by the Sports Awards committee and announced on the evening.

A more in depth look at each of the categories appears in this week’s Isle of Man Examiner, on sale now.

Pick up your digital edition at