TT 2017: Michael Dunlop chalks up win number 14

By Sports desk   |   Sports reporter   |
Monday 5th June 2017 12:29 pm
[email protected]
Michael Dunlop on his way to victory in Monday's Supersport Race One (Photo: Dave Kneale) ()

Subscribe newsletter

Subscribe to our email and get updates right in your inbox.

Michael Dunlop moved level with Mike Hailwood on 14 TT wins on Monday afternoon.

The mercurial Ballymoney man took the victory in the four-lap Monster Energy Supersport One race bringing home his MD Racing/Carl Cox Motorsport Yamaha 13.244 seconds ahead of early race leader James Hillier.

Peter Hickman secured his second podium in as many days with third place on his Trooper Beer Triumph.

William Dunlop, who had set the class’s fastest time in qualifying, was fourth after dicing with Hickman for the final rostrum place for much of the race.

Sunday’s RST Superbike TT winner Ian Hutchinson was fifth, ending a run of four straight wins in the class.

Gary Johnson completed the top six, a further 11.033 seconds behind Hutchy.

Bruce Anstey was seventh ahead of Manx duo Dan Kneen and Conor Cummins, the former once again falling foul of a pit-lane penalty for the second race in succession. James Cowton rounded out the top 10.

Ramsey’s Andrew Dudgeon’s impressive TT debut continued as he bagged 15th.


To leave a comment you need to create an account. |

All comments 0