The Department of Infrastructure is proposing that only pedestrians and cyclists should be allowed access on the 2.7 mile road.
The road was once an electric tramway but reopened as a road in 1962.
But it suffered landslides and part of it was shut in 1977, meaning motorists could no longer drive the entire length.
Cars can still go to the point where the road is shut while pedestrians and cyclists can travel along the whole route.
The DoI is now proposing to change that, and shut the entire road to motor vehicles, allowing access only for pedestrians and cyclists.
Its proposal would ’enable pedestrians and cyclists to exercise along one the island’s most scenic and picturesque stretches of road, free from concerns about motorised vehicles’.
The road was previously used for the Douglas Southern Electric Tramway, which operated between 1896 and 1939.
A bus service was introduced and operated along the coast during the 1960s by Douglas Corporation.
There is still the castellated entrance to the road and workshops, sheds and a power station was located where the car park is now.
The DoI Marine Drive consultation, which closes on April 6, can be found via the consultation hub on the government website.