The Under-21 IoM Sports Awards went to triathlete Will Draper and cyclist Amelia Sharpe respectively.

The Veteran Sportsperson title went to squash champion Dave Norman in a very close vote, while the Team of the Year is the IoM Junior Cycling team.

Sports Coach for the second year in succession was netball’s Claire Battye, while the Sports Administrator was announced as Petra Atchison, manager of the Isle of Man athletics national league team.

Equestrian Chloe Chadwick received the Disability Sportsperson award and the Ambassador title quite convincingly went to golfer Tom Gandy.

The popular winner of the Lifetime Achievement Award was Billown farmer Roy Gelling, who has an incredible record of appearances in the local snooker league over the past 60 years and more.

l Interviews and more news from the 2019 Isle of Man Sports Awards in next week’s editions of the Isle of Man Examiner and Manx Independent, also online at