The Isle of Man Ladies Closed Golf Championships swings into life at Douglas Golf Club this Sunday, starting at 12 noon.

Defending champion Shirley Price representing Port St Mary Golf Club will be looking to hold on to the trophy won at Rowany Golf Club last year. This year’s Grant Thornton-sponsored edition should be a competitive event, with Kayleigh Dawson (Peel), Lynda Simpson (Castletown) and Price all having the same 5-handicap.

It is nice to see younger golfers being represented, with recently-crowned Douglas club champion Emma Noon and Mount Murray’s Gemma Crawford teeing it up.

Last year’s runner-up Lindsey Tickell has home course advantage this year and will be hoping to go one better.

The 36-hole stroke play on Sunday will reduce the field down to eight for the match play stages which will take place on Wednesday evening.

Good luck to all competitors - I have a feeling that this year’s championship will be a close affair.

Tee times

12pm Gail Corrin (11), King Edward Bay, Lynda Simpson (5) (Castletown); 12.08pm Mary Manuja (22), (Douglas), Joanne Hicks (13); 12.16pm Jackie Murley (15), (Douglas), Lindsey Tickell (10) (Douglas); 12.24pm Emma Noon (12), (Mount Murray), Kayleigh Dawson (5) (Peel); 12.32pm Joy Platt (17) (Ramsey), Jenna Crawford (18) (Mount Murray); 12.40pm Wendy Hogan (23), Irene Waterhouse (15) (Rowany); 12.48pm Shirley Price (5) (Port St Mary), Breeshey Jansen (7) (Castletown).